Thursday, March 26, 2015

Happy Birthday to Me

Damian Michael, Esquire - Putting the "Hot" in Psychotic and the "Fun" in Fuck You since 1995!

Monday, March 23, 2015

Review of "The Bullywol Visitor"


Recently, I received a copy of The Bullywol Visitor, by author Cardigan Broadmoor. Described as a “Not for Children’s Book” (I’m not entirely certain what that means), it follows the strange intergalactic misadventures of Father Amblinsnow, an immortal being and sole inhabitant of Planet Fryng who, after eventually tiring of his days on his snowy homeworld, flies off into space. Encountering ancient mystical stars that teach him the knowledge of the universe (do I detect a hint of Lovecraft?), he then goes to the Moon where he is attacked by a Wild Wumpus (?) and finally journeys down to Earth where he lands in the Bullywol Mountains. I won’t say anymore for fear of spoiling the book.


I must say, I found this to be quite the charming read. Whereas most books aimed for children are fairly inspid and full of nothing but rainbows and smiles, not a hint of darkness to be found. Blech. However, in the tradition of Roald Dahl, The Bullywol Visitor doesn’t shy away from the darker, stranger elements of its quirky story. The artwork, drawn by Broadmoor, is reminiscent of Edward Gorey, albeit with a slightly Nordic/Pagan feel to it, which is only appropriate, as Broadmoor describes the concept of book (the first in a planned series) as creating a spookier, more Pagan version of Santa Claus/Father Christmas (the original title of the book was “The Spooky Christmas”). Orginally going to be one big book, he decided to split it up to multiple entries in a series. Says Broadmoor about his creation,

“Father Amblisnow is not really good or evil, as those orientations are generally perceived. He is a force of nature to be feared and respected. Like the 'Little People' of Irish folklore, his disposition towards you largely depends on your actions towards him; whatever way you treat him, he will treat you back thricefold. And even so, there is still a good chance his actions will be totally erratic. Remember, he is an immortal only child and not at all used to sharing or being told what to do!” 


Broadmoor says that other projects he has in the works include the next volumes of the Father Amblinshow series, a semi-autobiographical novel, a faux behind-the-scenes tell-all book about a fictional Giallo filmmaker, and a radio play about a noir detective with an eating disorder.


I for one am looking forward to seeing the rest in the series, and I think this would make a book for young horror fans to read around Xmas.

HalloweeNut's Verdict:

4 out of 4 Skulls

Tuesday, March 17, 2015

Luck of the Irish

Happy St. Patty's Day, Specters! Drink up!

Saturday, March 14, 2015

Dangerous Game



"In Buzkashi Boys, an Academy Award nominee for live action short film, two boys in Kabul dream of winning fame on horseback in Afghanistan’s aggressive national sport, buzkashi, where riders compete for control of the headless body of a goat.

To learn more about this unusual sport, Pop Omnivore’s Brad Scriber talked with photographer Matthieu Paley. He has been working in central Asia for 13 years and has photographed a number of buzkashi matches, including one for the February feature article "Stranded on the Roof of the World" about life in Afghanistan’s northeastern panhandle, the Wakhan corridor."

Click here for the article: 

Wednesday, March 11, 2015

Creature Triple Feature

A local theater is hosting a B-movie triple feature this Friday: Glen or Glenda?, Reefer Madness, and Night of the Living Dead. Popcorn is included. Looks like it will be fun.